Wardrobe Secrets of a Fashion Blogger – Q&A with Alicia of “Cheetah is the New Black”

In the morning, I usually read my bloglovin’ feed while sipping a cup of tea and I’m amazed that so many bloggers are able to post creative outfits nearly every day. Do they have bottomless closets or are they some how able to figure out how to reuse key pieces over and over? We asked Alicia of Cheetah is the New Black to tell us about the go-to pieces that make her wardrobe go the distance.

portrait courtesy of Cheetah is the New Black

SB: What are the top five clothing pieces your closet wouldn’t be complete without?

A: 1) Leather Jacket 2) Pants 3) Boyfriend Jeans 4) Leopard Print Heels 5) Silk Blouse

leather jacket – Rag & Bone, boyfriend jeans – Current/Elliot, leather pants – Acne, silk blouse – Equipment, leopard heels – Ivanka Trump

SB: What are the most useful wardrobe basics you own? 

A: Classic white and grey t-shirts (Old Navy sells my favorite tee’s at an unbeatable price point) and a great fitting pair of jeans.

t-shirts – Old Navy, outfit photos courtesy of Cheetah is the New Black

SB: How do you use them?

A: I like to pair dressier separates (e.g. skirts and pants) with a simple tee, or my boyfriend jeans with silk blouses. I like the rather unassuming mix of dressy and casual as well as a mix of both high and low price points.

SB: What items do you repeat the most and why?

A: My most distressed oldest pair of boyfriend jeans (it’s almost embarrassing how often I wear them) because they’re the most comfortable denim I own. And I wear my leather items (jackets, pants, skirt) quite often to meetings and around the city when I want to feel a bit more dressed up.

distressed boyfriend jeans – J Brand, outfit photos courtesy of Cheetah is the New Black

SB: What key accessories do you own that amp up your wardrobe?

A: My Dannijo bib necklace and J.Crew rhinestone cuff are two of my favorite statement pieces that instantly amp up any ensemble.

bracelet – Blu Bijoux, bib necklace – Dannijo, street style photos courtesy of Cheetah is the New Black

SB: You have a knack for choosing great jewelry. What do you look for when shopping for new pieces?

A: I typically prefer to invest in my jewelry and buy statement items that might be a little pricier but I will want to wear for years to come.

monogram necklace – BaubleBar, star necklace – Gorjana, earrings – Marissa Collections, watch – Michael Kors, chandelier earrings – Dannijo, jewelry box photo courtesy of Cheetah is the New Black

SB: Your green Philip Lim 3.1 Pashli Satchel is gorgeous and looks great with all your looks. How did you know it would fit in with your wardrobe vs. a neutral bag?

A: When I bought my Pashli Satchel, I knew I should probably go the safe, neutral-colored route, but I was instantly drawn to the green and hadn’t seen anyone else with it so I was sold. Turns out, it’s quite the neutral in itself and is going to be the perfect transitional bag into fall and winter as well.

green satchel – 3.1 Phillip Lim, portrait courtesy of Cheetah is the New Black

SB: What is your number one styling tip?  

A: Don’t take trends or fashion too seriously. If you feel comfortable in it, wear it.

SB: Where do you go for fashion inspiration? 

A: Online (I read a lot of blogs) and magazines. (See her entire blogroll here)

SB: Can you give us look ideas for the following: a little white dress, boyfriend jeans, striped shorts?

A:

  1. little white dress – pair with a panama hat and bold red lip 

    panama hat – GAP, white dress – TopShop, red lipstick – MAC

  2. boyfriend jeans – pair with a fancy peplum top in a bold color or pattern and heels

    pink peplum top – Topshop, distressed boyfriend jeans – J Brand, black heels – Boutique 9

  3. striped shorts – pair with sandals and a floral blouse for a little pattern mixing

    floral t-shirt – Topshop, striped shorts – J.Crew, sandals – Gentle Souls

 To find out more about Alicia and her style visit her blog Cheetah is the New Black 
2 comments
  1. Alicia said:

    Awe, thank you so much for the feature!! xx

    • Thanks for taking the time to answer our questions! I love the way the interview turned out! ;D

Leave a Reply

