Q&A: Helena of Brooklyn Blonde

We love the way you wear glamorous pieces for day – how do you make them work in your looks?  When wearing what would normally be considered “evening pieces” in the day, it’s all about balancing it out. I’ll pair my sequin skirt with a cozy sweater or a basic white tee or my fur vest with a pair of distressed jeans or a casual gingham shirt. Both balance and confidence are the two main factors for making any look work

What piece of clothing do you wear the most and why? Is it cheating if I say all my blazers? I’ve developed quite the blazer collection because I reach for them more than anything. It could take something as simple as a pair of denim cutoffs and dress it up or something like a sequin blazer and dress it down.

What’s your favorite fall/winter trend? I’m very into oversized scarves in bold prints and patterns. They can add so much pop (and warmth) to any outfit.

Blazers and boots are wardrobe staples – how do you wear these two basics and still keep them fresh and up-to-date? I’m all for wearing basics and sometimes I even prefer it, but when doing so I prefer to jazz up my look with accessories. I’ll pile on a few gold necklaces or a large cocktail ring. Even a bright colored lip or nail can turn a basic outfit into something  fun and interesting.

If you could buy only one item for your wardrobe this season, what would it be? If money was no object I’d get a Proenza Schouler PS2. On a more realistic note, a pair of 70’s inspired pants.

In the winter, how do you stay warm while still looking fashionable? I’d be lying if I said it was easy but I really feel that investing in a nice coat is key. It’s usually the first piece people notice and it’s something you wear more than anything else. Other than that, winter accessories help. I collect lined leather gloves and they really help to jazz up my winter look.

Read more about Helena’s style on her blog Brooklyn Blonde !

Are you a blogger, designer, or store owner who would like to be profiled by Style Expert?
Email us at info@stylebookapp.com

Leave a Reply

